Reviews

//Reviews
Reviews2020-01-19T20:28:00+00:00

2020

January

“Beautiful location.  Beautiful cottage.  Thank you”.

Catriona, Hampton Court.  14-17 January, 2020. (visitor’s book) BOND’S COTTAGE BARN

“Excellent accomodation for 4 with two ensuite bathrooms. Very comfortable beds with the accomodation furnished for 4 with all that you would need. Visiting in January meant that we didnt take advantage of the outside seating but the views from the property are fantastic. Clean and tidy with friendly hosts happy to help in any way they can. Loads to see and do in the area with the cottage being well placed to visit the surrounding towns such as Tunbridge Wells with Canterbury and Ashford not that far away. The cottage has private access to its own bird hide. The surrounding area is a nature lovers paradise withsome great walks. We had Sunday lunch in The George in Frant, good food, good beer and very friendly staff. All in all a relaxing time was had after the Christmas & New Year festivities. Well worth booking!”

Clive and Nicola, Ken and Lesley, Broadstairs.  January 4-8, 2020.  (Homeaway)  FLYING HORSE COTTAGE

“Such a beautiful place to stay, we have had the best time – don’t want to go home and back to reality”.

Sam and Lauren, Bedfordshire. January 2-4, 2020. (Visitor’s book) BOND’S COTTAGE BARN

2019

December

“A really beautiful place to stay – From brilliant walks straight from the house, to relaxing nights in by the log burning fire. The hosts have really thought of every little touch and answered all of our questions very quickly – They were also very understanding when the local taxi service couldn’t pick us up until half an hour after check out time! Would certainly recommend for a relaxing few days away.”

Kitty and friends,  London.  December 30-January 2, 2020 (Airbnb) FLYING HORSE COTTAGE

“Great hosts. Wonderful location. Pretty cottage. Could not have been better. Highly recommended.”

Gay, John and Adam, London.  December 23-27, 2019.  (homeaway)  FLYING HORSE COTTAGE

“A very nice place to rest, cook and enjoy the countryside.”

Armand and family, San Francisco December 15-20, 2019 (Homeaway)  FLYING HORSE COTTAGE

” We stayed here for a weekend.  The Cottage was lovely, very comfortable for two people with all the facilities you’d expect and done up to a high standard.  There’s some nice outside place too, though given our midwinter visit and British weather we didn’t get to enjoy this much! Recommended”

Chris and Jenny, Tunbridge Wells.  December 13-15 (googlemaps) BOND’S COTTAGE BARN

“What a fantastic weekend we spent at Virginia’s place! It’s a spatious, clean, brand new cottage, perfectly positioned to visit the countryside around Royal Tunbridge Wells. It has a fireplace, tv sets, a modern kitchen with all the kitchen tools you may think of. Virginia and Andrew were lovely, they helped us plan our weekend and gave us precious tips on local must-sees. Totally recommended!”

Michela, London. December 6-9, 2019. (Airbnb) FLYING HORSE COTTAGE

“You can expect a comfortable, beautiful place to stay to either rest and relax or explore the surrounding area”.

Ken, November 29-December 2, 2019. (Airbnb) FLYING HORSE COTTAGE

November

“Ginny’s cottage is extremely cozy, private, and comfortable. Pictures do not do this home justice! She is also super accommodating, sweet, and prompt in her responses. The cottage is not only equipped with all you need for an R&R but the location is great in that its close to what you need, but far away to get a bit of peace! Thanks so much Ginny for hosting!”

Mariyah, November 21-26, 2019.  New York.  (Airbnb) FLYING HORSE COTTAGE

“Fantastic”

Owen, November 11-16, 2019 (Airbnb) BOND’S COTTAGE BARN

“This is a simply gorgeous, cosy, comfy, and well equipped cottage with a lovely feel and quality finishes.  Set in lush wooded gardens this is a brilliantly designed space, including fabulous power shower, good storage, underfloor heating and a comfy big double bed.  It’s idea for a couple although I went there solo and set within stunning, peaceful surroundings.  Very thoughtful and helpful owners close by yet I felt I had total privacy and all within 10 minutes or so of Tunbridge Wells town Centre.  I’ll be back absolutely no doubt.  Love this hidden treasure.”

Rachel, Reading.  November 5-8 (googlemaps)  BOND’S COTTAGE BARN

” lovely cottage to spend out 5th anniversary.  Perfect trip, thank you”. 

Jake and Jade, Portsmouth November 1-3, 2019 (visitor’s book) BOND’S COTTAGE BARN

October

“A very sweet and cosy little cottage with everything we needed”

Georgia and Matt, Bromsgrove.  October 25-27, 2019.  (visitor’s book) BOND’S COTTAGE BARN

” Lovely stay in this beautiful cottage.  We have really enjoyed this weekend.  thank you. Gracias!!”

Ana and Arturo, London/Madrid  (Visitor’s book) BOND’S COTTAGE BARN

September 

“All comfort, friendly people.  Ideal for trips from there “

Paul and Luc, Belgium 14-18 September, 2019. (Googlemaps) FLYING HORSE COTTAGE

The Flying Horse Cottage was perfect for a week that involved both meandering about the countryside and going into London for work-related requirements. Beautiful views, private outdoor spaces, comfortable amenities for two couples. Lots of nice local pubs nearby, and a very handy – and quite good – farm shop within walking distance. Andrew and Ginny couldn’t have been kinder or more responsive hosts, checking in on us but respecting our privacy. Highly recommended”

Rene and friends, Canada. September 7-14, 2019 (Airbnb) FLYING HORSE COTTAGE

2018
December
“Thanks for a wonderful stay and lovely walks and pub recommendations very good!”
Steve, Andrea, Nick, Lucy and baby Emma, Folkestone and USA. December 27 – 31 (Visitor’s book)
” We loved our five night stay in this cottage. It is in a lovely country location and within easy reach of Tunbridge Wells. There was plenty of space for our family of 4 adults. The hosts were very welcoming with many thoughtful touches and an open fire. We would recommend this cottage”.
Penni, Steve and family. Sydney Australia. December 22-27 (Airbnb)
“Fantastic place. So peaceful and yet very close to town. Cottage in perfect order couldn’t have asked for more. Hosts wonderful too”.
Josefine and Spencer. Cape Cod, USA. November 29 – December 6 (Airbnb)
November
Thank you for a lovely stay! The cottage is in a wonderful setting with lots of excellent pubs, walks and activities close by!”
Lois. Islington, London. November 9-12 (Visitor’s Book)
October
“This holiday in Tunbridge Wells has been extraordinary. Wi-fi amazing, pillows just too comfy and even a wet room! If I was a critic I would definitely give it 5*’s….I loved Lucky the horse and the mushrooms. Thank you!”
Caroline, David and Miranda, Lewisham. October 25-29 (Visitor’s book)
“Giny’s place is a delight. cosy, close to town, surrounded by beautiful countryside and even comes with a friendly pony”
Andy, Sonia, John, Freya (and 2 unborn), London. October 21-24 (Airbnb)
” Another wonderful stay in our favourite cottage!”
Jane and Graham, Norfolk. October 11-16 (visitor’s book)
“We thoroughly relaxed in the cottage in the countryside thank you Giny – we shall miss Lucky too! Kind regards”.
Duncan and Sue, Littlehampton. September 29-October 5, 2018 (Visitor’s book/Airbnb)
September
“A really lovely place to stay. Much care given by Giny to make stay really brilliant. Thank you”
Cameron and Margaret, Douglas and Rita. September 22-24 2018 (visitor’s book)
“Lovely stay. The views are amazing. We would definitely love to come back”
John and Cheryl, Cambridge. September 12-19, 2018 (visitor’s book)
“This was the perfect spot to use as a base to explore Southeast England. The cottage was very modern with radiant heat and THREE televisions. My husband was in heaven. There are many dining options nearby. The feel is country, but very close to Tunbridge Wells and not too far from London. We enjoyed staying here very much and would highly recommend.”
Larry and Jenny, St. Louis Missouri. September 6-12, 2018 (Airbnb)
August
“Great place, great hosts, great location – we will come back!”
Ulli, Anouk and Andreas, Germany August 25-28, 2018 (Visitor’s book)
” We returned here and very much enjoyed the accommodation. Good location for visiting castles, London, Brighton and so on. Nice views from the garden and Broadwater Warren. We liked it!”
Ron, Franka, Milo and Jessa, Rotterdam. August 18-25, 2018 (Airbnb)
“A great location for our many walks. Thanks for the comfortable accommodation. We would recommend The twenty-six in Southborough for a fabulous dinner. Also ate at The Hare and Crest and Gun. Sorry to have missed our hosts – another time. Thank you”.
Wade, Alison, Meghan and Victor, Canada. August 11-18, 2018 (Visitor’s book)
“Another wonderful stay in our “home away from home!”. Thank you once again”.
Jane and Graham, Norfolk. August 5-9,2018. Visitor’s book
July
“Lovely stay, cottage, surrounding area and hosts fantastic. Thank you”.
Lesley, Samantha and Nicola, West Sussex. July 26-29, 2018 (visitor’s book)
“Absolutely fabulous break here in this lovely cottage. Couldn’t have asked form more, beautiful surroundings, lots of places to visit and a superb base. Giny and Andrew made us feel very welcome and at home. Thank you”.
Jennie and Grace, London. July 15-24, 2018 (Visitor’s book)
“We, a conservative family from Saudi Arabia, chose this cottage based on the photos and reviews in Airbnb. We wanted to live a change from a hot weather and yellow desert to a green land with cool and cloudy weather, and experience life in England’s rural areas. The last 5 days we spent in Flying Horse Cottage were fascinating and our experience was very exceptional. Everything in this cottage and around it was beyond our expectations. Unmatched morning time, a hot coffee and having breakfast facing the woods and receiving a nice breeze through open doors, that was a gorgeous feeling. The cottage’s outdoor considers very much family privacy which is one of the amazing things I noticed in the cottage design, we salute Giny and Andrew for this excellent design. The cottage is close to Tunbridge Wells which is a nice town for spending time, having good food and doing some shopping. Giny and Andrew, thank you for your kindness and efforts to make our stay very comfortable”.
Yahya, Alexandra and family, Riyad, Saudia Arabia. July 7-12, 2018 (Airbnb)
“We’ve had a lovely break here in a beautiful spot. Thank you so much for everything. Stunning views lovely comfortable cottage with all mod cons. We loved Lucky too – Richard grew very fond of him!
Pat and Richard. June 30 – July 7 (Visitor’s book)
June
“Another lovely week in this beautiful cottage. Glorious weather….nightjars, wood lark and tree pipip and stonechats on the reserve and woodpeckers, jay, nuthatch and yellowhammer at the feeders. Tonbridge Castle and Ightham Mote well worth a visit. Breakfasts outside enjoying the view – what could be nicer? Thank you very much Giny and Andrew for your hospitality. We look forward to coming back.
Janet and Francis, Herts. June 23-30, 2018 (visitor’s book)
“An immediately welcoming and well appointed accommodation set in a quiet location with stunning views. A perfect place to relax. The bird feeders provided unexpected delights by the frequent appearance of a spotted woodpecker and a jay. This wonderful high Wealden landscape is blessed with many places of interest to visit in a short stay. Thank you the Bests for this special hideaway in the East”.
John and Jill, Richard and Mary, Hampshire. June 5-8, 2018 (visitor’s book)
May
“Another perfect stay – thank you so much”
Jane and Graham, Norfolk. May 31 – June 5, 2018 (visitor’s book)
“We have enjoyed a relaxing and comfortable stay at the Flying Horse. We’ve sampled splendid local house and gardens as well as enjoying the birds in the garden. Thank you”
Alex and Sarah, London. Margaret and Christopher, Oxford May 21-25, 2018 (Visitor’s book)
“We had a delightful stay and enjoyed the home comforts of the cottage. Thank you Giny for your unobtrusive help. Would love a return visit one day, maybe!”
Yvonne and Geoff, Victoria, Australia May 14-21, 2018 (Visitor’s book)
“Thank you very much for your warm welcome. We have enjoyed our stay and several gardens (we love flowering rhododendrons)”
Petra and Jorges, Germany. May 5-12, 2018 (visitor’s book)
April
“A delightful comfortable cottage – wonderful views and great birdwatching. We even heard a cuckoo! Over 40 species seen and heard including woodlark and tree pipit on heath. Chartwell and Hever Castle great for days out. Hope to return one day, Thank you”.
Sue and John, Nailsea, Bristol. April 21 -28 2018 (visitor’s book)
“Flying Horse Cottage is pretty, quiet, comfortable and truly special. We couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay for our Easter Weekend. Great walks through Broadwater Warren to local publs make this an extra special way to relax and feel utterly spoilt!”
Alex, Sue, Karl and Andrew, London. March 30 – April 2 2018 (Airbnb)
March
“Fabulous accommodation and lovely views. Bird watching from lounge an extra treat – Thank you. Very comfortable, top quality shower, kitchen, bed etc. Deserves 5* rating”
Geoff and Sandra, Berkhampsted. March 23-27, 2018 (Visitor’s Book and email)
“We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful cottage. Everything is finished to a very high standard, and the cottage is equipped with everything one could need. It is in a beautiful setting, and watching the wildlife added to our stay. Thank you to the owners who although we did not meet, as they were away, were very communicative and pleasant in their e-mails. We loved it, and will look forward to staying there again when occasion arises.
Neil and Lesley, Utah, USA. March 11-19, 2018 (Owner’s Direct)
“Another wonderful stay – it’s become home away from home! Everything delightful as usual. Thank you”
Jane and Graham, Norwich. March 5-9, 2018 (visitor’s book)
“A warm and welcoming cottage, Giny and Andrew were perfect hosts, there for anything we needed. Spacious very clean and comfortable with everything we needed. Set in lovely countryside with just the birds for company, oh and the lovely pony just outside in the field. Lots of extra little touches including some herbal teas and fresh flowers on the table. The 2 outdoor spaces are great, one gets the sun in the morning and the other in the afternoon/evening. A perfect place to relax”
February
Di and Joe, Wendover. February 15th – 19th, 2018 (Owner’s Direct, review)
“Visited for a nice ladies weekend. The accommodation was gorgeous and had everything we needed. Nice and modern and in a lovely setting only minutes from Tunbridge Wells. Virginia was lovely and ensured we had a nice time. I hope to come back and visit.”
Tash, Colchester. February 9-12th, 2018 (airbnb)
January
“This is a great place to stay if you want to relax. It’s only a 6 minute drive to Tunbridge Wells yet you are in the middle of the countryside. There are beautiful views from every aspect … even in dreary January! The place itself is perfect. Immaculate, high end spec, comfortable yet cosy. This was a 5 night break with my elderly Mum and our host even provided a bottle of prosecco to celebrate my Mum’s birthday. A very thoughtful touch. There was no dishwasher which, personally, I would’ve preferred to the washing machine because you will definitely use the former (!) and are unlikely to use the latter but, otherwise I could not find fault even if I wanted to! I highly recommend this place without reservation.”
Sandra, Caterham. January 20 – 25th, 2018
“We’ve now stayed here in each of the four seasons and we’ve always had a lovely time. Thank you once again – see you soon!
Jane and Graham, Norwich. January 4 – 9th, 2018

2017
“The cottage is fantastic. Set in a stunning location with stunning views. Everything you need is available in Flying Horse Cottage. The owners are very friendly. Hopefully we will be back again this time next year”
Richard and Gillian, Hereford. 23-30 December, 2017 (googlemaps review)
“Very comfortable and peaceful. Pleasant walks in RSPB reserve just over the road, and lots of garden birds (including a woodpecker) outside the window”.
Peter, Jane and Alex, Yorkshire. 24-26 November, 2017 (visitor’s book)
” Wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage. Hope to be back soon. Thanks for your hospitality”
Smith and Samson Families, 2-5 November, 2017 (Visitor’s Book)
” Perfect cottage in stunning location. Beautifully crafted and designed interior and fabulous beds. Idyllic place to relax and unwind”.
Guy and Stephanie, Burnley, Lancs 28-31st October, 2017 (Visitor’s Book)
“This cottage is an absolute gem. Perfect for the nature reserve and a 5 minute drive from Tunbridge Wells. Giny and Andrew are perfect hosts. Wholly recommend staying here”
Phillip and family, Bermuda 21-28 October, 2017 (Airbnb)
” A lovely cottage, very comfortable beds and sofas. A perfect place to relax and unwind. Loved the wetroom, shower so easy to use”.
Janet and Graham, Herts. 14-21 October, 2017 (Visitor’s book)
“Our third visit this year! Once again we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your delightful cottage. Many thanks. We’ll be back!”
Jane and Graham, Norfolk. 5-10 October, 2017 (visitor’s book)
“Superb self catering accomodation in a great setting – furnished and equipped to a very high standard. Don’t hesitate to book!”
Alison, Hampshire. 28 September – 1 October, 2017 (googlemaps)
“Beautiful setting for a perfect holiday. The cleanest accommodation. Giny and Andrew made us so welcome. Would love to return”.
Pam and Laurence, Kent. September 9 -16, 2017 (visitor’s book)
“A delightful break in a lovely setting, Many thanks”.
Elizabeth and Ian, Fiona, Dan and Amelia. September 1-5, 2017 (visitor’s book)
” This is the perfect holiday cottage. Very clean, comfortable and relaxing. Thanks for the welcome pack, the fruit buns were delicious”.
Christine and David and family, Northumberland. August 21-24, 2017 (visitor’s Book)
“This quaint little cottage will exceed your expectations. Quietly nestled off country road at the top of a small hill, this cottage is comfortable and offers great views, especially form the back deck. Great Pubs nearby and very close to Royal Tunbridge Wells, so it was easy going into town to the supermarket and shops. The craftsmanship was exceptional, every element of the highest quality. The kitchen is brand new with high end appliances, the HUGE sliding doors, french door, and windows were all new installations and of the highest quality. Even both bathrooms are all new with all new fixtures. The floors were heated, so no matter the temperature outside, we were quite cozy. Thanks again, Ginny, for everything. We had a great time and look forward to visiting again.”
Joshua and Debbie, Eddie and Elvira, California, USA. August 11 – 21, 2017 (Airbnb)
“Superb accommodation, every comfort catered for. The only thing missing was a radio, which much to our surprise Karen kindly supplied. Despite changeable weather we very much enjoyed our stay. Had superb meals at High Rocks and The Greyhound at Hever. So glad we found Flying Horse Cottage”.
Linda and Barbara, Suffolk. August 7-11 2017 (Airbnb)
“A well designed cottage in a lovely location. The quality of everything is five stars – great memory foam beds and top notch showers. Fabulous views from the super insulated windows. Worth coming back in winter just to test the log-burning stove! Perfect balance between the peace of the countryside and the convenience of nearby Tunbridge Wells. Warm and friendly hosts – thank you!”
Andrew and Filipa, Kenya. July 24-29 2017 (Airbnb)
“A beautiful place to stay with very thoughtful hosts. We are already planning when we can return….
Jim and Rosie, Herts. July 11-14 (Visitor Book, Flying Horse Cottage)
“A really lovely cottage in a stunning location. The rooms are extremely comfortable with excellent facilities and the hosts are warm, welcoming and friendly. We’ve stayed twice and can’t wait to return! A true gem”.
Jane and Graham, Norfolk. July 6-11, 2017 (googlemaps, Flying Horse Cottage)
“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautifully placed property. Attractively furnished and lovely finishes. We hope to return. Thank you Giny and Andrew Best and Karen for your friendly and helpful communication”
Bob and Sylvia, Perthshire. June 9-14, 2017 (Visitor book)
” This is an excellent cottage to stay. It has fantastic views from all angles. The rooms are perfect and accessibility is great. One of the best places we have stayed and will definitely be coming back”.
Manjit and Gurdeep, Birmingham. June 2-6, 2017 (googlemaps, Fly)
“We loved this cottage. It had everything you need and more. Was a short drive to Royal Tonbridge Wells but felt like you were in the middle of the countryside. There were lovely walks on the doorstep and the views from the cottage are amazing and Virginia a very good host. We look forward to returning sometime in the future.”
Christina and family, Norfolk. May 26-29, 2017 (Airbnb)
“We had a wonderful stay at Virginia’s. Beautiful view over the countryside, the accommodation has everything we needed, very comfortable and well appointed. It was a great base for Tunbridge Wells and the train up to London. We had a very warm welcome from Andrew and Giny. We will definitely be back..”
Joanna and Robert, Australia. May 22-25, 2017 (Airbnb)
“The website photo’s don’t do justice to this little gem! We’ve enjoyed our stay in your fabulous cottage. The location is superb and the views are stunning. Can’t wait to return”.
Jane and Graham from Norfolk May 7 – 11, 2017 (Visitor Book)
“Thank you for your hospitality! We would love to come back”.
Ron and Franka, Milo and Jessie from Rotterdam April 29-May 5, 2017 (Airbnb)
“Fabulous stay, has everything you need and more. Hosts lovely thank you”.
Ian, Gary and Jimmy from Rhyl, North Wales April 24-28, 2017 (Visitor Book)
“A beautiful little wood built cottage with gorgeous views and amazing nature on your doorstep. A great find!”
Sophie, Tom and Helen, London. April 13-16 2017 (Airbnb)
“We had a really lovely stay at this cottage. We were warmly welcomed and made to feel very much at home. The cottage was surprisingly spacious and well-appointed with very comfortable beds and amazing views over rolling fields and countryside. My eight and ten year old can’t wait to come back. They loved feeding the resident pony and ran free in the woods. They rate it as one of the nicest places we have stayed. Thank you Giny!”
Sasha, Ava and Eddie, London April 2-6 2017 (Airbnb)